Hello world!

My name is Reggie Myers, and I would like to welcome you to my blog.  I am a Public Relations major, a Business minor and an Event Planning certificate candidate.  This is my final semester and I am both excited and nervous to graduate this upcoming January.

I write frequently, but mostly for business purposes.  I have created press kits, press releases, pitch letters, brochures, presentations and qualitative research reports.  I have also written blog posts and newsletter articles for multiple organizations including Temple’s Public Relations Student Society of America, my internship’s blog and the Philadelphia Black Public Relations Society.

I want to be a multi-media artist who creates and writes novels, television shows, films, blog posts and magazine articles.  I know in order to accomplish these goals; I have to take writing classes outside of the Strategic Communications realm.  I’ve already written two short stories for my Creative Writing: Fiction class, and I took this class to gain more experience with online writing.  My other interests include event planning, photography and producing.

I love to read, and my favorite book of all time is Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin.  However, during the school year I rarely have time.  When I do have time, I like to read two books at a time: one for entertainment and one for self-improvement.

As a PR major, I have to stay updated on the news whether I like it or not so I read online content from many different sites.  I look at The Huffington Post daily to get a quick glimpse at what’s going on in the world.  I also read Hip Hop DX, Current TV, New Black Man, Clutch Magazine, This is Your Conscience, The Root, The New York Times, Mused Magazine Online, Politico and PR Daily.

Well, I think I’ve given you a glimpse of who I am so I’m going to stop here.

Until next time,

-Reggie

